Bendeboue Blues

Bendeboue Blues

Bendeboue Blues, la musique de blues, dans tous ses formes, jamais démodée, toujours chez nous, les sentiments de la journée, avec un clin d'oeil vers le rock, assez large, et en partage avec vous, et " à la semaine prochaine.." *

dixit Ben de Boue

* en français, Bendeboue Blues, tout est dans le titre


••• émission hebdomadaire :

  • première diffusion le dimanche de 21h à 22h.
  • deuxième diffusion le mardi de 14h à 15h.
  • troisième diffusion le jeudi de 16h à 17h.


Bendeboue Blues 388 - Blues des Canuts en Norvège part 2

émission du 16/10/2016 nombre de lectures : 217 lectures

et voilà, part 2 de Norvègian Blues Scène, "Oslo Bluesklub 20Ar ", période 1995 - 2015

Bendeboue Blues 388 - Blues des Canuts en Norvège part 2 de 16 oct 2016
01 – Kristin Berglund – Another empty kitchen – Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
02 – Knut Nordhagen – Craving for your love – Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
03 – Erik Harstad & So What – What is life to you –  Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
04 – Barrelhouse Chuck pno (USA),Knut Reiersrud gtr – Barrelhouse woman –  Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
05 – Joakim Tinderholt & His Band   – Bad luck – Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
06 – Billy T Band – Too good to be true –  Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
07 – Knut Reiersrud – Barrelhouse blues – Hunter Records – 2007
08 – Kid Andersen – Hands of time – Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
09 – Rock Bottom hca (USA) ,Little Andrew gtr, Knut Eide gtr – I don't wanna die –  Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
10 – Sven Zetterberg – Watchdog –  Oslo Bluesklubb 1995–2015 – Big H Records – 2015
11 – Marcus Lovdal Band – Searchin' blues – Marcus Lovdal Band – Blue Mood Records – 2015

Album Info:

Oslo Bluesklubb 20AR 1995-2015 | Album Review
.Big H Records

15 songs – 58 minutes

Here’s an interesting CD for you: A collection of songs celebrating the 20th anniversary of Norway’s Oslo Bluesklubb, a non-profit organization with about 700 members that promotes the music across the city.

A nominee for a 2016 Blues Blast Award in the Historical Or Vintage Album category, it features performances by visiting American bluesmen — including Chicago piano stalwart Barrelhouse Chuck and two departed legends, Mighty Sam McClain and Rock Bottom, the hard-living Florida-based harmonica– as well as Kid Andersen and J.T. Lauritzen, Norwegians who’ve made major inroads in the U.S., as well as Vidar Busk, a Norwegian blues pioneer, and a host of local talent.

Despite the CD title, all of the material here presents the artists at their best and was recorded in studios rather than live in the venues the club supports. Despite all of the liner notes written in the musicians’ native tongue, all of them deliver their lyrics in totally unaccented English.

Singer/guitarist Knut Nordhagan was working regularly at the Windy City bar when the Oslo Bluesklubb was formed. His original, “Craving For Your Love,” kicks off the disc. It’s a loping song of desire. Erik Harstad & So What deliver the blues rocker “What Is Life To You” before McClain steps to the microphone to sing “Please Mr. Foreman,” backed by a band fronted by keyboard player Knut Reiersrud. Recorded when visiting for a festival appearance, it’s a powerful plea to slow down an assembly line while working 12-hour days seven days a week.

Reiersrud switches to guitar as Barrelhouse Chuck launches a sprightly version of the Leroy Carr classic “Barrelhouse Woman” before Joakim Tinderholt polishes off B.B. King’s “Bad Luck” on vocals as he delivers smooth guitar runs that would make the master proud. Next up, Lauritzen accompanies himself on accordion as he and his Buckshot Hunters deliver a little swamp-flavored blues in the original, “The Joker.” The Billy T Band, who are called upon regularly to back musicians from the States, are up next with “Too Good To Be True,” a funky soul blues, before Reiersrud, who’s shared the stage with Buddy Guy and Otis Rush, covers the traditional “Barrelhouse Blues” with a new arrangement atop a medium-fast shuffle.

Now a superstar both as a guitarist/multi-instrumentalist and producer in addition to his work with Rick Estrin And The Nightcats, Kid Andersen is up next with “Hands Of Time,” a funky stop-time blues, before guitarist Little Andrew provides his original “Leave Me Alone.” It’s a rocking blues with a ‘50s New Orleans feel. Rock Bottom’s talents far outstripped his name recognition in the U.S., but they’re on display her as he blows the back off it on the slow blues grinder “I Don’t Wanna Die (With My Bills Being Paid),” aided by Little Andrew and Knut Eide on guitars.

Harmonica player Sven Zetterberg covers Mojo Buford’s “Watchdog” before the Tiger City Jukes offer up the acoustic original, “Demon,” and guitarist Busk sears with “You Hurt Me” accompanied by Eirik Bergene’s powerful vocals. Kirstin Berglund’s “Another Empty Kitchen” brings the album to a close. It’s a sprightly, fingerpicked original acoustic blues.

Available through or as a Spotify download as well as through other vendors, including in Europe, Oslo Bluesklubb 20AR 1995-2015 is a highly entertaining album throughout, especially if you’re unfamiliar with the quality of blues emanating from other lands, this isn’t a bad place to start.




Écrire un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire :